Perfectly Persimmon

One of the colors I chose for my wedding was persimmon. The rich beauty of the color combined with the custard sweetness of these seasonal fruits provided the perfect inspiration. A friend of mine was musing on persimmon over dinner on Monday. She mentioned that during their season (October-December) her skin is softer and smoother than any other time of year. She attributes her angelic, rejuvenated complexion to the slippery, soft Hachiya persimmon. Of course I had one for breakfast yesterday to test their potency.
By noon I was a reaping the rewards. I could not believe it!
My skin was plump, smooth and much more even and toned than usual. Needless to say I bought a bunch more of the Hachiya variety. These are the acorn shaped rich orange fruits that are eaten when completely soft.
So what is it in the persimmon that makes you look as fresh as a full night of sleep following all day at the spa? Like everything we eat it’s the combination of vitamins, minerals and fresh goodness.
For all you nutrition nerds like me here are the stats:

• Vitamin A: 10,080 I.U.
• Ascorbic acid: 48 mg
• Thiamine: .11 mg
• Riboflavin: .08 mg
• Niacin: .4 mg
• Calcium: 26 mg
• Phosphorus: 97 mg
• Iron:1.3 mg
• Carbohydrates: 73 g
• Protein: 2.6 g
• Calories: 286

The perfect food right?
Persimmons are also rich in tannins which give the immature fruit its astringent taste, it contains two compounds known as shibuol and betulinic acid that are though to have anti-cancer properties. A study conducted in Japan showed that the peel of the persimmon contains phytochemicals known as proanthocyanidins which may protect cells against oxidative damage associated with aging.

I mixed the creamy fruit with whole raw walnuts and it was simply superb.
And don’t worry you Golden Path Alchemy persimmon product in on the way.

