Lettuce Be Frank

I was picking lettuce in my garden today and I realized how lucky I am. Not only do I have an amazingly beautiful vegetable garden, I also have the loveliest lettuce ever! At least the loveliest I’ve ever grown. It’s all green and gorgeous with a soft, silky texture, a sweet taste finishing with the gentlest acrid spiciness. With mossy undertones and sunshine peaks . . . Hmmm, well this isn’t really a lettuce tasting blog and you know what really good, fresh lettuce tastes like. As you’ve guessed I’ve been chowing down on salads and just plain fresh picked lettuce for the last couple weeks. I noticed that my skin has gotten more soft and silky just like the lettuce. This reminded me what a super beauty food lettuce is.

The Tao of Nutrition calls lettuce, “neutral and bland” with actions to, “invigorate the chi, remove stagnation, reduce swelling and soften hardness.” While I’m not totally sold on its blandness from a nutritional perspective I get it. The bland flavor falls in the sweet category. It tends to be a diuretic, promoting urination and relieving edema. Lettuce is rich in vitamins, minerals, alkaloids, carbohydrates, protein, fiber and water. The vitamins in lettuce are A, K, C, riboflavin and folate. Minerals include calcium, phosphorus, magnesium and iron. Most varieties have a good balance of Omega 3 and Omega 6 fatty acids. It’s also alkaline in nature which helps soothe and strengthen the liver while it purifies the blood. As we’ve mentioned before a healthy liver and clean rich blood are critical for overall heath and beauty. With a high water content, it is moistening to boot!

So welcome Spring, the season of the Wood element, (the liver belongs to the wood element) with a simple salad.

