Baby Birthday Cake

Image

My daughter Meadow Jean is turning 1! I can’y believe that it’s already been a whole year. Time really does fly by. 

First birthdays mean CAKE, and for those of us who are gluten free there aren’t a lot of delicious whole food options. I found this recipe in my Nourishing Traditions Baby book and tried it yesterday (practice run) and it was delicious. It’s a beautiful, rich, sugar free, dairy free, coconut flour cake which means it’s also paleo.

GAPS Coconut Flour Cake

1 1/4c coconut flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

8 large pasture eggs

2/3c melted grass-fed ghee

1c honey (I used maple syrup)

2 tbl vanilla

Preheat oven to 330 degrees. Grease two 8″ cake pans and dust with coconut flour. In a large bowl combine the coconut flour, salt and baking soda. In a medium bowl whisk together the eggs, the, honey and vanilla. Blend the dry with the wet ingredients until thoroughly combined. Divide the batter between 2 cake pans and bake for 35-40 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Frost when cool.

I modified it by using maple syrup and coconut sugar instead of honey since meadow is not quite 1. I also did one 9″ cake pan instead of two 8″ which worked fine. The book pairs it with the GAPS friendly frosting, but after tasting it I think I will serve it with fresh vanilla ice cream.

